Random Peeve of the Day: Use of Personal Technological Device on Work Time

30 Dec

I don’t understand where people get off, and feel dogmatic in this upcoming rant.  People at my current job, former jobs, and I’m sure your job do personal things at work, while clocked in!  I find it appalling, and am about to assail them with my (true) observations.  Let’s not even talk about Noah’s Ark–the employees were always up to some legerdemain, and took advantage of our kind bosses in so many ways, texting seemed banal.  I suppose at that job, we were lucky if anyone showed up to work half sober–our employers were hardly authoritarian is their management style.  It is an enigma to me that people feel they have the right to clock in and then do personal things at work.  So what if work is dull-that’s why they call it WORK.

Now I work at a more hard-core veterinary hospital.  Somehow it’s a diluted version of the same stuff.  I’m always walking around a corner and seeing not only our 20 year veteran technician, not only our self proclaimed “Head tech and Office Manager” texting AND checking his Facebook account (not even trying to masterfully hide it), I see the veterinarians doing it!  Shhesh, what the hell?!  Honestly, I don’t understand the mentality of needing to be yoked to your i-phone like it’s some sort of physically attached limb.  Life is not constantly bland–learn to entertain your mind without technology–better yet WORK.

I think it’s pretty difficult and hippocritical to come down all dictatorial and reprimand our new receptionist for checking Facebook on work time when not only her immediate supervisor does the exact same thing, but her boss is sending personal texts too!  Superiors at work shouldn’t act like any plebeian dope hired off the street–they should set an example!  Don’t ask your employees to do anything you wouldn’t do yourself.  God, when I own my own business I am going to be amartinet about what my employees are doing on MY time–who cares if they think it’s overbearing!

Another popular form of bilking your (veterinary) employer?  Tending to personal pets during the work day, when you are already late to work, or making other employees do things for your animal while they are clocked in.  Our normally imperiousvet is one of the worst offenders too!

For the frugal, who do not want to pay a pet sitter, it’s really nice (especially for people with dogs) to work at a vet hospital because it usually means you can bring your pet to work, board it (for cheap to free) when you need, and you can get an appointment anytime you want.  I hate when people take advantage of this!

One of the vets (the usually bossy and OCD one) strolls into work 5 min. late on most days, then instead of rushing to her first appointment or surgery, takes 20 additional min. to unload her dogs from the van.  It’s maddening!  The other vet doesn’t bother to take her dog potty in the morning, because when it inevitably craps in its run at work, she knows she can con an employee into cleaning it up for her.  I WILL not clean up an employee’s pet’s poo during work.  A degree of veterinary medicine is not a sinecure–it is understood that you will work hard, long hours from the start of your education.  Vets are not dentists, you know!  Anyway, most people clock in THEN perfunctorily give their pet food (belonging to the clinic), water, and walks.  Then if they disappear, I always know to wander to the back kennels where they are giving their pet plenty of attention instead of working.  I guess they tire of the stale work day?

I can honestly say that once I clock in, I NEVER check my voice-mail, text buddies, or check Facebook.  I’m not even in proximity to my phone while at work.  I am purposefully peremptory in this behavior.  I wait to check that and my laptop for my lunch break or AFTER work–when I’m not on the clock and getting paid.  I of course have had pets stay during work days, but get to work early to set them up–off the clock.  I wait until breaks to tend to their needs, and I specifically put notes on their kennel for my co-workers not to mess with them. I don’t even clean/tend to my pet that lives at my work.  I think of it as a form of stealing from an employer.  It is analogous to committing larceny and walking off the job with items.  Once you’re on the clock, you’re getting paid to WORK.

Not to mention that I’m busy WORKING so I wouldn’t have time for any personal endeavors anyway.  I am always kinetic at work–there isn’t time to slow down and mess with a phone or computer.  I don’t really understand the mentality lethargicallyscrewing around at work.  My thinking is:  Get the job done, and fast, so I can screw around at home–in my jammies.  Other people don’t seem to get this connection to working hard/fast = going home sooner.  They find me domineering and controlling–BUT like the consequence of leaving on time.  And certainly there can be monotony at work–some days are slow and lacking flavor.  But that’s when deep cleaning, meticulous detailed endeavors, and large projects should be done.  Jeeze, burnish the exam tables, scrub the walls–DO something.  Or else just go home!  There is never a time for standing idol at a job.  Even on a vapid day.  There is always SOMETHING to occupy your time!

Maybe the most annoying part of it all is that employees don’t get it–the REAL reason for this tirade.  I am not imperturbableabout it, because it affects ME as an employee when a co-worker is on their i-phone at work.   I am so doctrinaire about it because it means not only do I have to complete my own work, but cover theirs too.  Don’t think I’m not going to give them aglower for it, magisterial or not.  And they think being connected 24/7 is a RIGHT, and are surprised when employers take measures to cut down on phone/computer usage at work.  The employees are so entitled about texting and doing stuff with their pet they become intractable about these issues–I’ll just never understand. . .

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

