I’m a Champ Post-Surgery

18 Nov

I really am.  I had it pretty easy after all 3 IVF egg donations and today I did the best on my household.  Here’s what I mean:  Cool got a sick belly and a headache, Sloppy vomited twice, and Choco-Luv slept the day away.  I took less than an hour nap, only complained of my pain when all meds wore off at 7 PM, and was a real trooper.

I removed the gauze prematurely–it was strange.  It felt like they forgot a piece of gauze near my throat and I might choke on it.  I was so worried about swallowing it and choking, I dug around my mouth with my index finger.  Turns out my tongue and mouth were just dry.  It was a strange feeling!  And when I got home I noticed I had blood on my lips and teeth that no one at the oral surgery place had removed–what the hell?!  I remove the dental blood even for cats and dogs!  $2500 doesn’t buy you a little post-procedure clean up?

Anyway, I’m up an hour or two past my (steadfast) bedtime, because I am worried about my pain meds wearing off.  Cool says just to put more pills by my bedside, and that’s smart.  But it still means pain might wake me up.  And if it wakes me up it’ll probably be pretty substantial.  You know how it’s easier to prevent pain then try to treat full fledged pain and all.  Once I sleep, I want to stay (restfully) asleep until at least the 5 AMS.  That’s my normal wake up time–emphasis on my body’s time.  I hardly EVER sleep to my alarm clock.  So I’m up writing (inane?) posts so that I can sleep painlessly through the night.  Naps are much easier to pre-game for. . .

Leave a Reply

