Making (and sticking to) a Training Schedule

19 Nov

I guess going to the YMCA just for the sake of working out, is not working the best for me.  I regularly laze out, but don’t wanna waste that $20/mo + Cool’s $20/mo.  So I thought something to work towrd might be more succesful at getting my ass out of my PJs and going.  And that thing is. . .   A Triathlon!  I’m not going all hard-core, or even doing a full length–cause hello a marathon after other stuff.  Is.  Just.  CRAZY.  But a sprint, short-length Tri seems acceptable.

 

Here is a sample triathalon traning schedule.  It’s focused on swim since I don’t really know what I’m doing.  Learn the swimming kick-turn first thing.  And this training guide is also a sprint program.

Since my prospective race is

Monday, May 30, 2011 Spring Festival Triathlon & Duathlon
Moses Lake, Washington Montlake Park
Spring Festival Triathlon :
Triathlon : Swim ¼ mile, Bike 10 miles, Run 3.1 miles
Spring Festival Duathlon :
Duathlon : Run 3.1 miles, Bike 10 miles, Run 3.1 miles

This schedule should be a good fit.  It’s even a 16 week plan!  There are an overwhelming amount of tri informational pages and links though.  I’ll see if I like this one best.

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/cms/article-detail.asp?articleid=39

I also wrote to a couple of my former clogging teammates who have experience with tri’s.  Maybe they know some good secrets or tips.

*1 length of YMCA’s lap pool = 25 yards or 22.86 meters

1 length = 23 meters or 25 yards (from wall to wall)
2 lengths = 46 meters or 50 yards
4 lengths = 91 meters or 100 yds
¼ mile = 400 meters or about 500 yards = 20 lengths
½ mile = 732 meters about 800 yards = 32 lengths
1 mile = about 1700 yards = 68 lengths
1.2 miles = about 2000 yards = 80 lengths
2.4 miles = about 4000 yards = 160 lengths

Leave a Reply

