The Food IS The City!

20 Nov

This lack of sleep business we have been contending with. . .  AGAIN, reminds me so much of my year in Seattle.  I never slept well in that city.  I’ll never understand why my age group/housemates/neighbors do not sleep during the night.  I’m going to have to pull a Niles Crain and get some sort of white noise, ambiance machine to drown out their inconsiderate sounds.

So here’s something a little brighter that reminds me of Seattle.  If ever there was a restaurant that could represent an entire city–the mentality of the residents, ethics, economy, everything, it would be the location of my 27th birthday dinner.  Elemental absolutely mirrors every aspect of Seattle.

The communication is not very straightforward.  We didn’t even know where we were at first.  We had to ask the UPS man to verify the restaurant’s location during the day.

The ambiance is very plain at Elemental–you might think you’re getting the bare minimum, simple experience.  But like the city itself, with down-home roots, it is far from simple.  Everything is secretly decadent and extravagant.

The waiter is pompous and rude.  It’s an exact replica of the Seattle chill.  The people there are supposed to be friendly–and superficially they are.  At a distance.  You think.  And you think a restaurant strives to satisfy customers. . .

The food is organic, local, and environmentally acceptable.  Just like Seattle’s rabid environmentalism, one-track organic notions.

The final price tag was horrendously expensive–just like most things in the city of Seattle.  It must be an excellent location for the rich to live.  Even Frasier has to settle for a condo with roommates.  How could a normal person stand a chance?

http://www.yelp.com/biz/elemental-seattle

When I’m bored I like to read Elemental’s Yelp reviews. Everyone has a strong, polarized opinion about it.  I personally liked it–one time.  Eating there made me feel like Fraiser, and a real Seattle resident for the first time.  I was finally partaking in the good life in Seattle instead of slumming it at the Frat house and working with entitled people. . .  I’ll always remember that fancy birthday dinner!

Leave a Reply

