My Strengths Just Don’t Match Their Emphasis

14 Dec

Well, I just received my big vet school letter today–and I wasn’t accepted to Pullman’s Veterinary program.  Honestly, once you’ve gotten the rejection letter 8 times (I was accepted twice) it isn’t all that heart-wrenching anymore.  Of course, the veterinary dream has defined me for so long, it’s a huge turning point for me.  Though, after working in the veterinary field for so long, I am attuned to all of the pitfalls.  I would have been GREAT at overcoming them.  I had practical expectations about becoming a vet.  I would have had so much heart and dedication to the career.  But the vet schools don’t accept people like me.  I feel like it’s more a hit to the profession than my ego.

I can be really good at something else.  AND not have to go into debt for the rest of my life.  Also, I can’t say I’m too disappointed to get some weekends and holidays off.  I won’t miss some really crummy support staff, I won’t miss rich girls that got into school so easily only to have babies after a year and work one day a week.  I won’t miss irresponsible pet owners or the really high maintenance, entitled ones.  So as much as I love the profession, and think I would be well-suited for it–there are things I am happy to live without.  I’m mostly thinking about my family and hometown who know me as the girl who dreamed of being a vet for so long.  I feel they will be disappointed.  That is who I am to them.  Just the girl who wanted to be a vet since she was little.  Now, to them, I’m the girl who failed.

At least I know.  I can start my life and move on to bigger and better things.  I don’t want to tech all my life.  I want my work to MATTER.  Whatever I do, I want to make a difference and be an integral part of the equation–not just a body.  So now that it doesn’t matter to me, I’ll share my admissions personal statement and stuff.  I only hope they can help my readers–along with that HIGHLY IMPORTANT 4.0 GPA.

2 Responses to “My Strengths Just Don’t Match Their Emphasis”

  1. animaltranslation December 21, 2011 at 10:19 AM #

    I’m 3.5 years in- its not all its cracked up to be. But you already knew that and still wanted to do it? You’ve got it right- its the profession that is missing out, not you.

    Rachel

    • kit10phish December 21, 2011 at 7:06 PM #

      Thanks for saying that–it means a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

