Missed the Boat

29 Jan

Really, what’s new?

In my “What the FUCK” post, I indicated the communication problems I have been having with my new university.  To make a long story (that I have dwelled on ALL week and am tired of thinking about) short, I am joining the junior-level class in the spring, when the school highly prefers to accommodate entering students in the fall.

I have had to explain myself and my aspirations to many people, who truth be told, should have asked me sooner.  It is not my fault admissions blew me off before the semester and are just dotting their i’s and crossing their t’s three weeks into the semester.  This kind of thing makes me crazy, and I would have had every right to complain and tell all of them their treatment of me has been slipshod and unacceptable.  BUT, I didn’t.  I need these people to like me and want to help me.  So, difficult as it was, I kept my lip zipped and was Miss Lighthearted throughout the debacle.  As you, my readers well realize, this is uncharacteristic for me.

Anyway, as a result of the communication errors, I just found out yesterday that the scholarship application for this next academic year is due on January 31.  This pretty much left today to do it since I worked Saturday morning, and have to work 9 hours on both Monday and Tuesday.  Also, I have a big, group paper and presentation due this week for the class.

I opened the scholarship app, hoping to finish it and hopefully get myself some much needed financial help.  On page three were not one, not two, but six essays to be written!  And of course, since I am entering a completely new field, I could only alter two previous essays to remotely work.  I was crestfallen.  Maybe I could have buckled down, and put grocery shopping, calling my parents, and my class project on the back-burner to write TWO new essays.  But I don’t think I could have written six new high quality essays in a day.

So in the interest of not missing out for next year, here are the topics so I can work on them throughout the year and turn in the scholarship application for 2013-2014 on time.

1.)  Leadership/group contributions: Describe examples of your leadership experience and share how you have significantly influenced others, helped resolve disputes, or contributed to group efforts over time. Consider responsibilities you have taken for initiatives in or out of school.

2.)  Knowledge or creativity in a field: Describe any of your special interests and how you have developed knowledge in these areas. Give examples of your creativity: the ability to see alternatives; take diverse perspectives; come up with many, varied, or original ideas; or willingness to try new things.

3.)  Dealing with adversity: Describe the most significant challenge you have faced and the steps you have taken to address this challenge. Include whether you turned to anyone in facing that challenge, the role that person played, and what you learned about yourself.

4.)  Community service: Explain what you have done to make your community a better place to live. Give examples of specific projects in which you have been involved over time.

5.)  Handling systemic challenges: Describe your experiences facing or witnessing discrimination. Tell us how you responded and what you learned from those experiences and how they prepared you to contribute to the WSU community.

6.)  Goals/task commitment: Articulate the goals you have established for yourself and your efforts to accomplish them. Give at least one specific example that demonstrates your work ethic/diligence.

Other Items on the Application:

1.)  Leadership, responsibility, contribution to community and family, and co-curricular involvement are important at Washington State University. Please prioritize your top four experiences in these areas over the last three years.

Employment/Co-curricular involvement/public service

 

2.)  Research or creative projects, laboratories, hospitals or clinics.
(Please do not include class assigned research papers or projects.)

Describe your contribution below. Be as specific as possible about your role. You may include work accomplished at other institutions. (limit to 30 words):
Leave a Reply

