Drowning

22 Apr

This happened last Friday or Thursday night.  I just didn’t have time to post it until now. . .

I was having a dream and suddenly, the location in the dream changed to an indoor swimming pool. There were rich people sitting around in their pool, while MY people had their utilities turned off. Since the rich people had a hand in turning off our utilities, I walked in their to demand a functional pool for us (I’m not sure who was in my group). The rich people in the pool did not care and acted like there was no problem.

I got heated, trying to stand up for my pool rights. I ended up using my foot to splash water in someone’s face. I did not note a temperature to the water.  Then, two of the younger guys grabbed me by the arms and pulled me under water. I hadn’t had time to prepare by filling my lungs with air, and started to panic.   As they pulled me by the arms, down, down, down, I could see gray water, the color of Washington’s sky, swishing past me.  They swam down, down, even further and I had NO air, and was going to have to breathe in soon. I knew if I did I would drown since it only takes a teaspoon of water in your lungs. . .

I woke up on my stomach (my normal position of comfortable sleep) and was actually struggling to breathe. I don’t know if I began having the dream because in real life I was having some sort of apnea, paralysis, or heart problem–or if the dream panic bled over into real life causing me breathing problems. . .  Either way it was scary.

Here’s what dream dictionary says about water, pools, and drowning:

To see water in your dream symbolizes your subconscious and your emotional state of mind. Water is the living essence of the psyche and the flow of life energy. It is also symbolic of spirituality, knowledge, healing and refreshment.  To dream that you are swimming underwater suggests that you are completely submerged in your own feelings. You are forcing yourself to deal with your subconscious emotions.

To see a swimming pool in your dream symbolizes relaxation, calmness, luxury and ease. You need to take a break. Alternatively, a swimming pool suggests that you need to acknowledge and understand your feelings. It is time to dive in and deal with those emotions. You need to cleanse yourself and wash away past hurts. Consider the depth of the pool. If you were swimming on the deep end, then it means that those emotions are deeply seeded and may be harder to confront. You will need to work through it, no more matter how difficult. If you are swimming on the shallow end, then it implies that you should be able to easily deal with your feelings.

To dream that you are drowning indicates that you are feeling overwhelmed by emotions. Repressed issues may be coming back to haunt you. You may be proceeding too quickly in trying to discover your subconscious thoughts. You should proceed more cautiously and slowly. If you drown to death, then is refers to an emotional rebirth. If you survive the drowning, then it means that a waking relationship or situation will ultimately survive the turmoil.

Leave a Reply

