Janeane Garofalo

21 Aug

I liked her dry humor and sarcasm when she was popular.  Where did she go, anyway? Did she retire, stop getting hired, settle down, move?  I always wonder. . .  She was all over the screen in the 1990s, and now you hardly hear from her.

When I did hear from her, she was doing some Seattle comedy TV special. And she tried to tell the audience that she was A-sexual. Meaning she doesn’t have sex with anyone.  Which is fine.  It’s a thing, I guess.  Though I have to wonder why.  But if you don’t wanna have relationships or sex your entire life–have at it.  Or don’t, I guess.  Except, in Garofalo’s case, I don’t buy it. She’s a total lesbian!  Total.  I think the only reason she claims/thinks she’s A-sexual is that her family is staunch Catholic. And gay and Catholic don’t mix well in most cases. At the very least, combining both is very, very difficult.  So I think rather then take the hard road, she gave up love and sex all-together.

Or maybe that’s just what she says to escape conflict and she’s secretly shaking up with a woman somewhere. . .

On the same track, why do celebrities/people say, “My sexuality is nobody’s business” ???  True, explicit details of sex lives are not all that relevant to the public–this holds true for everyone.  But sexuality has to be actively hidden.  The person in question has to mindfully avoid pronouns, secretively date/live, and be constantly careful.  It’s more then just protecting your personal business, it is (internally) homophobic to try to keep such a big piece of life on the D.L.

It would be akin to a Jewish person saying their religion is nobody’s business then actively trying to hide it and not acknowledge their religion/heritage.  I think people say their sexuality is nobody’s business are really saying that it is nobody’s right to judge such a personal, important, pervasive, and unchangeable part of themselves.  Because, sure, it’s nobody’s business, but it does come up naturally.

Possible internal homophobia and +/- closeted behavior aside, I can really get behind a person who says:  “I guess I just prefer to see the dark side of things. The glass is always half empty. And cracked. And I just cut my lip on it. And chipped a tooth.”  Quote courtesy of Wiki.

Leave a Reply

