Crock Pot Congee/Juke

18 Nov

OK, I found a dysphagia recipe that I can cook in the crockpot–so that cinches it.  I’m going with Case 5, the Asian gal.  Less work=great!

Ingredients


  • When I prepared this porridge it was in a slow cooker(unconventional method) but you can purchase a Congee cooker. It takes all day but it’s well worth it.
  • I used 1-1/2 cups of a good quality rice and soaked it overnight.
  • The next morning I drained the rice and rinsed it “carefully” under cold running water.
  • I added the rice to the crock pot / slow cooker with at least 3 – 4 cups of either homemade vegetable stock and water or chicken broth and water and I always added finely chopped onions, mincedgarlic and a dash of hot sauce but that was my personal choice.
  • I do not have exact measurements for this recipe because I did it by eye.
  • I cooked this on high for the entire day, usually adding more hot liquid throughout the day.
  • The consistency is not too thick and not too thin orwatery.shopping list
  • I always placed a tea towel over the top of the crock pot / slow cooker to prevent any heat from escaping.
  • This porridge is absolutely delicious and excellent as cold weather comfort food. We usually hadbaby bok choy, chopped green onionssoy sauceand hot sauce with this. I like a dollop of butter on mine as well 😉
Leave a Reply

