Career Goals Essay Brainstorm

28 Jul

I think I’ll have to write 2 essays–one for Audiology programs and the other for my back-up plan of SLP.

Audiology:
-location

I would like to help an underserved population, but other than the Sioux Reservation, I don’t know what those are right now.
-population
-age

adults or a geriatric population, for essay purposes.  In real life, I don’t know about the different patient populations to make an informed choice about working with one over another.  Maybe I’d love deaf babies. . .  Who knows.
–> it is probably easiest to tailor these specifics to the shopping w/dad essay.

SLP:
-dysphagia
-include vet observation & diagnostics

Talk about watching the equine endoscopies and how interesting the diagnostic processes were to me.  Also mention how I have taken, developed, and viewed radiographs for that last 13.5 years in small animal veterinary hospitals.
-why am I interested in this?

I’m interested in dysphhagia because it blends my love of cuisine with my compassion for others.  I love food and can’t imagine the joy that is sheared away if you were not able to enjoy eating or had a fear of choking.  I would enjoy using my creativity to come up with delicious, but practical foods for people who are having difficulty eating.
-who do I want to help?

I want to help any age person that is frustrated with changing their diet, eating a limited vareity of foods, or has a fear of eating things they enjoy because of their health.  Sharing my passion for food and coming up with meals the patient not only can adjust to, but is excited to eat would be my career goals.

Writing plan options to incorporate the above:

-Tell about the best meal of my life, at Elemental and how everyone should be able to enjoy food.

Everyone knows on your birthday you get a special meal of your choice.  I knew I would only live in a real city for one year of my life, so I chose a restaurant that embodied the Seattle mentality-Elemental.  The location was right off beautiful Lake Union, over-looking Gasworks Park.  Situated in a complex of condos, the restaurant was so nondescript, without even a sign that we had to ask the UPS driver where to go.  We entered the stark white room and lingered by the front door, not sure of the procedure.

After being asked about allergies, our first plate came looking like it had been prepared on The Food Network.  The portions were tiny, yet elegantly garnished.  The smells emanating from the dish ensured freshness of ingredients, the colors vibrant.

-Describe a special occasion and show how many holidays and events revolve around food.

New Year’s:  No traditional food?  champagne

Valentines:  I hate this one.  Cheese, chocolate strawberries, desserts; wine, champagne

St. Pattys:  Non-holiday; too drinking-focused.  Corned beef & cabbage; beer

Easter:  brunch

Memorial:  Original intent subverted.  BBQ

Independence:  This might be good, because it’s not religiously affliated.  ribs, brats, hot dogs; beer

Labor:  Original intent subverted.  BBQ

Halloween:  Maybe religious people on committee who could be offended.  Candy, caramel apples, pumpkin seeds

Thanksgiving:  Too traditional, too cliche’, over-done

Christmas:  turkey, ham, stuffing, potatoes & gravy, cranberries, yams, candy canes, chocolates, everything under the sun; egg nogg,

-Talk about my mom’s Indian fry bread and tacos and explain that food is often foundational to retaining culture.

I have enjoyed fry bread sopping with honey and butter since I can remember.  My mom would make it, and it was common, yet I knew it was special.

-Describe some canned cat food in a detailed way.  Contrast that with about how no person should equate eating with sustenance only–how it should be an enjoyable event.

Sound:  the clink as the can is placed on the counter, scraping metal of the can opener, metallic peeling of the lid being pried off, the suction sound of the gelatin-like food plopping in the bowl.

Sight:  The shiny, gelatinous mass; pinkish with mottled brown coloration; the rings of the can tattooing the meat-stuff; the circular shape of the mound of food; the gravy congealed at the bottom of the food; the mashed consistency when pressed with a fork.

Smell:  pungent, fish, meaty, salt

Touch:  slimy, greasy, wet, squishy, firm

Taste:  Does anyone want to find out?  There is nothing appealing about the above description, and no person should have to resort to this food.

 

Leave a Reply

