SLP Goal: Dysphagia-Cat Food

21 Aug

This needs some editing, but it’s a start.  I probably won’t use it, even though it’s a nice creative writing exercise and memorable.  It could work, I just have a better one in mind, that’s all.

Pulling the silver can from the bottom shelf with my left hand, I opened the top, silverware drawer and excavated a can-opener.  Setting the short metal on the counter-top with a clink, I then lined the teeth of the can-opener on the edge of the rounded tin and squeezed down.  There was a “pop” as a puncture bit its way through the rim, and I could instantly smell salty gravy, and see some cloudy liquid oozing out of the tiny puncture.  Twisting the white handle, of my easy-grip can-opener I scraped my way around the top of lid, making confetti of the ajoining blue, paper label covering the can.  The pungent aroma filled the kitchen with a undefined meaty, smell.  The paper bits and gravy make a slimy, brown semi-circle on the tan counter.

Disposing of the lid in the trash, I perceived the contents of the can.  A shiny, gelatinous mass, of mottled brown coloration wiggled up at me.  I got my worn, tupper-ware bowl, stained peach from a prior meal of spaghetti sauce, and turned the open can upside down over it.  After some shaking and squeezing of the sides of the aluminum sides, the circular mound of food, can rings tattooed around its periphery, landed in my container with a plopping noise.  A scooped the mass of congealed gravy that was shy to exit, with a fork.

Mashing the psuedo-can with my fork, the mushy, wet, brown food sent waves of odor to my nose.  I scooped up a small, bite of food and lifted it to my mouth.  It tastes–Wait!  Does anyone want to find out the answer of how this mystery meat tastes?  There is nothing appealing about the above description, and no person should have to resort to this food. I just described opening a can of cat food.  No one, dysphagia or not, should have to endure a meal reminiscent of this.  Food should be a family affair to cook, harken cultural traditions, look pretty, and smell good.  There should be fresh ingredients and texture.

cut out

I want to combine my veterinary experience with endoscopy and radiographs, my education in speech and hearing sciences, and my creativity to help people with swallowing disorders, because I love food and cannot imagine a sad, meal time of bland, non-discriminate slop from a can eaten alone.  I hope to imbibe my dysphagia-friendly food with some flair–help my clients regain not only confidence in a safe eating experience, but some flair and festivity to recourse.  Everyone should be able to cook, look forward to, and delight in their meals, not dread, fear, and bare them.

 

Leave a Reply

