Exam-Sham [Prelude]

17 Sep

Today I am back on track.  I woke up early, studied like I should, worked productively, ran at the track (it hurrt after 13 missed track-runs!), made study sheets, walked to class while studying flashcards, rewrote my notes, and read/outlined.   A perfect motivation day–not without much struggle to actually DO the things.  I’m not gonna lie–it was hard to buckle down, and I wanted to cheat several times–and almost did when time to run was facing me.  But I pulled through–as I will do for the rest of the semester.  But back to my shenanigans.

I’m having to read and outline 4 textbook chapters in one afternoon/night for next week’s impending exam in my more difficult course.  The syllabus has no dates for exams or assignments, but it does include the reading.  Except there’s an optional book on reserve on the library to confuse the issue.  I had read/outlined chap 1,2,3,4,9,11 and thought that was certainly all that was required in the first month of school.  I found out chapters 5,6,7,8 are also supposed to be read in that time.  That’s more than 451 pages of 12 font textbook type to wade through in 4 weeks!  More then 16 pages/week.  I think that’s right–I may be off since I just spent 3 straight hours reading and outlining hunt-&-peck style. . .  It seems a little insane, but I’m just glad I’m finding out why I’ve grown increasingly confused and frustrated during lecture.  This was due to a weirdly written syllabus and my own inability to read it–not irresponsibility–that’s coming up.

Anyway, here’s what contributed to this snafuu I’m in:

My first exam in my hearing anatomy class was Monday–worst day possible for a test since I have to work, go to school, then back to work.  And instead of studying like I feel comfortable with, everything was a lot.  Less.  I felt/feel guilty because that’s not the mentality I want-or the actions I would like to take.  I’m not an all-talk phony, I do really want that 4.0.  This was all very contrary to my overall goals.  That is not to say I didn’t study.  Don’t get me wrong–I always make flashcards directly after class and I study them at least daily, if not more.  And I had also drawn many figures for both a graded project and my personal study use.  And Cool quizzed me several times over the 4 days I took for the weekend.  It just wasn’t as much un-inturrupted, individual study as normally makes me feel confident.

And the short version (because I’m fatigued at staring at this screen and need to go to bed early in order to wake up at 4AM and study) of why my studying was neglectful–in list form:

BROOKE

–>Work:

stress, stress, stress!  Gossip, drama, confrontations.  More.  Stress.  Possible schedule change.

pug x 3

–>house-sitting:

Satellite TV, free wine and beer, and many animals wanting attention and care.  Add in a commute that shaves off 30 min of study time each direction.

state-fair-goats-1180213-blog

–>Fair:

Tickets that had to be used so that money wouldn’t go to waste.  Last weekend meant it was go or lose the (pre-paid) price of admission.

Tomorrow:  I’ll write about my pre-exam night of rest.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

