Grad School App Checklist 10/13

4 Oct

I love the hours of my new schedule!  Not so much how everyone at work treats me because of it–but *read this* I do not care about their $hitty attitudes or their horribleness towards me.  I am not at work to make friends or have social hour.  Be cool all you want.  I got a chilly go home from the doctor really early today.  I think it was meant in a mean, stigmatizing way–but boy was I happy to be able to study in my jammies!  I wish I didn’t have to go to work at all on Friday.  Also, because I didn’t have to work all day, I actually got to go to my department’s session on how to apply to grad school.  My school always puts things on Fridays–so I’ve missed them for the last 2 years because of work.  Here are some of the things I want to remember:

-What to look for in a program:

**research interests of faculty

**clin praticum opportunities

**size of cohort/class

**lifestyle of location

===costs/scholarships!

-Visit prospective school

**an official visit, w/meeting of department

**meet faculty

**official tour

**talk to students in program to see how they like it

-make myself a notebook of each university I am applying to

–include criteria

–write due dates

–what info to send

–how much in fees

-3 letters of reccommendation

–from faculty

***it’s OK to req these via e-mail

***it is also OK to req a meeting w/that person–to get to know me FOR the letter writing

***give them:

++++CV/resume

=====GPA–whichever is used, just specify how I arrived at that #

=====work experiences

=====honors

=====volunteer/clin experiences

***put this info in a notebook w/table of contents to make it EZest possible for them to find info & write

***also make a checklist of what universities, what format, & dates of when these are due

***for things that I want them to be sure to mention–put a * or highlight or something

–letters from outsiders not weighted highly at all = don’t bother

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

