Health Care Confusion

8 Oct

I repeatedly voted for ObamaCare or “Affordable” Health Care Act or whatever you call it.  Having no real idea what the law said/meant.  I thought free health care for everyone was an excellent idea.  I was under the impression everyone who had health insurance would get more from it–no co-pays, no discrimination.  All the women groups and gay groups said how awesome it would be.  I thought either government or employers had to cover every person–and (this sounds so silly now) I thought it would be at no charge to individuals (me).  I was thinking of Canada’s Health System.

parade 2

I should have researched:

-Firstly, I had/have no idea about the ins and outs of the law

-I don’t understand insurance jargon such as “deducatable.”  Am I extraordinarily stupid–or does anyone?

-I don’t know where to look to find easy to read, non-politically motivated, actual info–that pertains to my situation.

-I don’t want to have to spend a disproportionate amount of time researching and signing up for insurance–or a lot of money.

Leslie Knope

My Situation:

-I work part-time and no longer qualify for health insurance through my ‘under 50 employees small business’ job.

-I go to school part-time so I do not qualify for a student insurance plan.

-I make too much money (how is this even possible?!) for Medicaid.

-I applied for the Medicaid-rejects, state-run (so called cheaper-option) insurance and it would be $128/mo!  For catastrophic-only.

-The insurance companies in my area offer $100/mo min policies for me.  For just catastophic.

hit by train 1

I guess I am Also “Willfully Uninsured”:

-I have no pre-exsisting conditions

-I have no chronic (or other) health concerns/conditions.

-I never go to the doctor–unless I’m injured AT work real bad, dentist, or glasses (neither EVER covered).

-I have in fact, gone to the emergency room once (at 22 y.o.) and of course couldn’t afford the bill–but I paid it back in full.  By myself.  Slowly.  Because I am a responsible citizen–so I in no way expect society to cover any accident I may have.

egg sx bruise

Questions:

-What is the absolute cheapest insurance I can get?

-Which company offers the max insurance benefits to cheapest rate ratio?

-When I do pay a (high by my standards) monthly insurance fee, and don’t end up having any accident or health concern–where does that money go???

-How much is the tax for NOT having insurance?

-When do they start charging tax for being non-insured?

2012 Spring 084

 

One Response to “Health Care Confusion”

  1. 2spirals October 8, 2013 at 7:12 PM #

    Reblogged this on The Blog I Write Stuff In and commented:
    some good questions.

Leave a Reply

