Sounding Less Ignorant for NPR

13 Oct

I’m ashamed to admit my “news” source is Facebook.  And people I overhear–at work or at school.  Not the best for a 30 year old.  Also–I’m anti-politics.  I think anyone who gets that far “played the game” and is therefore dishonest and untrustworthy and phony to a certain degree.  So it’s weird I’m in conversations with NPR.  My mate, Cool sent some sort of e-mail response to the news group and now I’m almost famous.  Which is good and bad.  Good, because people like me–caught in-between a job and a career, poverty, and low-income, liberal and conservative–will have a voice,  I can tell the story of many forgotton people.  But bad too–because I am legit-uninformed, not politically involved, and fairly ignorant regarding laws, insurance, and politics at large.  In the interest of doing my segment justice, here are some well-thought answers to potential questions:

opposing parties

–>Aren’t I concerned about being uninsured?

Sort of.  It would be awful if I got appendicitis and had to pay for an emergency room visit.  It would also be terrible if my apartment caught on fire, my car was totaled, or one of my cats ate a string and required surgery.  I worry about a lot of things:  Paying my rent, keeping my car in good working order so I can get to work and school, keeping up with my undergrad loan payments so they don’t garner my wages, keeping my kitties fed, and buying groceries.  In my situation, any number of things can go wrong, so I have to prioritize which is most likely/relevant.  My health–since I have no previous or current issues, has to go on the backburner.  Plus, with health insurance, I do not feel like I’m getting anything back for my money.  I want exams or perscriptions, or something back in the short term for that $100/mo or $1,200/year that means so much to me.

–>What happens if you do have an emergency or health problem?

I pay it off.  Slowly.  I went to the emergency room before.  Certainly I could not afford it.  And no payment plan–other then “pay immediately or lose your good credit” was extended to me.  BUT I paid what I could each month–and the emergency room didn’t turn me into collections.  I made my own payment plan so to speak.  Just paid what I could on a consistant basis for almost 2 years.  And paid off my entire bill–my myself.  It’s what responsible citizens do.  I hardly expect government or tax payers to pay my way. . .  And for non-emergencies I just try to reduce my doctor visits, live wisely, and do what I can to avoid costly medical expenses.  It’s not that hard to sleep, take vitamins, and wash my hands rather than running to the doctor for every sniffle.

–>Haven’t I looked into my insurance options?

I looked into my options briefely.  I can’t say I have devoted an apprporiate amount of time on the issue, because my biggest priorities are studying and attending school and going to work–and when I’m not doing that I’m generally tired.  What I did find was what I deemed unreliable, politically-charged “information” or large sets of data that may or may not pertain to my specific situation to wade through.  It’s been frustraing and has made me feel very ignorant and uninformed about the whole process.

 

Leave a Reply

