ATTACK!

11 Dec

While I’m in Stellar-Super-Schooling mode, it’s all about getting $hit done this year, before break is over.  Last year, Spring semester began before I knew it and I did not even come close to getting things finished started.  That’s no way to begin, and I was tired before the real crushing blows of course-work hit me.  So by summer, I was completely burned out.  I will AVOID that this year.  Step 1)  Don’t let work take advantage and sap that extra time.  Step 2)  Start.  That’s all.  Starting early just allows me to break things into smaller, more managable portions.

I typed chapter headings for Audiometry chap 1-6 today.  I’ll define terms tomorrow.  Then, I’ll just fill in the marblehigh points after that–I have to remember the outlining is merely to focus my attention–not enable me to submit a draft to publish my OWN textbook.

Here is info from Pudue on writing a Curriculum Vitae.  I have no idea how to write one, or when I was supposed to have learned this skill.

1)  goal of a CV is quite specifically to construct a scholarly identity

aa)  your CV will need to reflect very specifically your abilities as a teacher, researcher, and publishing scholar within your discipline

bb)  One of the most important things to remember when working on your curriculum vitae is that there is not one standard format.

iii)  instead of writing, “I taught composition for four years, during which time I planned classes and activities, graded papers, and constructed exams. I also met with students regularly for conferences,” you might write, “Composition Instructor (2000-2004). Planned course activities. Graded all assignments. Held regular conferences with students.”

cc)  If, however, you have a lot of very short phrases, breaking them up into bulleted lists can leave a lot of white space that could be used more efficiently. Remember that the principles guiding any decision you make should be conciseness and ease of readability.

2.)  Your CV should include your

aa)  name and contact information,

bb)  an overview of your education,

iii)  Typically, the first item on a CV for a job candidate directly out of grad school will start with the candidate’s education listed in reverse chronological order.

cc)  your academic and related employment (especially teaching,editorial, or administrative experience),

dd)  your research projects (including conference papers and publications), and

ee)  your departmental and community service.

ff)  You should also include a reference list, either as part of your CV, or on a separate page.

Sidenote:  determine both what the jobs that you are interested in require and where your strengths lie. When determining what comes after your educational credentials, remember that the earlier in your document a particular block of information comes, the more emphasis you will be placing on that block of information. Thus, the most important information should come first.

3)  CVs, however, often run to three or more pages.

aa.)  Remember, however, that length is not the determinant of a successful CV. You should try to present all the relevant information that you possibly can, but you should also try to present it in as concise a manner as possible.

-OK, the problems I have with that is A)  I need to look at examples for formatting purposes.  B)  As an undergrad in a new field I have ZERO experience, which will leave my CV pretty short.  C)  The CV seems to be for professors–like people who already HAVE masters and doctorate and are looking for employment.  And I am just trying to enter grad school. . .

Leave a Reply

