2013 Goal Progress: Education

3 Jan

I indicated yesterday that I would make a rough schedule and post it today for practicing purposes.  I started this morning (after I woke up at 4:AM and treadmilled for 1 mi) but soon realized, I’m missing an important piece.  I have to talk to my professor about my independent study project.  We meet this Tuesday, so I can’t really formulate a plan until I know the parameters of the project.  From my rough calculations, I have to average 3 hours/week working on it.  And I know that no part of it will be on Monday.  So I’ll wrap that post up I guess Tuesday afternoon.  I just wrote all of that, realizing you could probably care less.  These January introspection, transformation posts are primarily for my own evaluation and motivation.  I hope no one mids terribly–because it’s continuing on.

Today, was sort of dedicated to schooling items:  Finished my scholarship application, finally, finally, finally (and thanks to my mom’s awesome editing and support), outlined a lot of Audiometry and began to read & outline Clinical Methods–which by the way looks to be much more work then I had originally anticipated.  I’m trying not to worry these days, and I can only do so much.  So I’m not freaking out.  OK, trying really hard.  Without further adou, my accountability of 2013’s school goals:

Education B

[Oh!  I gave myself progress report letter grades, then wrote exactly what the stated goal, then how I did.]

-I will continue to make this THE priority. As such, I will study when I don’t want to, keep up on reading, notes, and flashcards daily, and give 110%. I did all right! I’m happy with it, but I musn’t become complacent because I did well. This one is so hard to buckle down and do, so I need to work on maintaining it.

-My motto: Just 10 minutes (more). Pick up the studies just for 10, and put it down if it still sucks. When I want to quit in the middle of studying, give just 10 more min. This really helps, and most of the time turns into a longer time. I actually didn’t have to use this as much. For the most part school is just a part of my regular routine. The only time this was used was when I was very tired.

-Combine physical activity with studying whenever possible. I don’t know if this is a “thing” but I seem to retain info better when I study it in motion. Total and utter fail this year. I don’t know why, either. I DO learn better and stay more attentive when moving. The work and class schedule + weather made it more difficlut this year. Perhaps this next semester will be ammenable to combining the 2 again.

-As a side-note, I will MAKE myself overlook crummy professors and bureaucratic nonsense. These things don’t matter to my life and only make me stressed out. C+. I fixated on this waaay less. Though this, I missed lunch treatment got to me more then I like. And this grading unfairness. But much less. And I hardly e-mailed or talked to them at all, which works out better for me mostly.

keystone--closed lifts

The plan is to keep this aspect up, because I feel really good about it–and very proud of the results.  AND I’m almost finished, and this 4.0 is my ticket out of HERE and up in life.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

