My Most listened in 2013

4 Jan

Next is my top artists that put out a CD in 2013.  But this one is purely statistical per data from LastFM.

DMB africa

Artists:

10]  Movie Sounds Unlimited

9]  Maroon 5 & Michael Buble tied with 130 listens

8]  Relaxing Piano (study purposes)

7]  Mumford & Sons–which dropped so much in rank because of a worrysome, cliche article in “Rollingstone.”

6]  Matchbox 20 tied with London Philharmonic Orchestra (another studious listen)

5]  John Mayer has 152 in 2013.

4]  Tbilisi Orchestra that started out for studying, but became a favorite b/c of “Fast Movements.”

3]  Dave Matthews Band with 329 listensDMB NY 2010

2]  Brandi Carlile with 506 listens

1]  909 plays of Vitamin String Quartet for their fantastic vocal-less covers of all types of music that allows study WITH recognizable songs.

I surprised even myself.  This is the first year Indigo Girls weren’t #1–they didn’t even make the list!  I still love them, but they haven’t made a new album in awhile and I’m pretty particular about which versions of their songs I like.  So various live albums don’t cut it.  I thought more of my staple-artists would make an appearance, actually.  Taylor Swift, Sheryl Crow, Akon, and more are usually in top rotation.  I’m also surprised how few listens there are.  And this is because I was spreading the artists thin, by listening to a huge vareity instead of just a few favorite people/bands.  So it’s good to branch out.  I also didn’t realize how much I was studying–good for me with top spot, #4, 6, 8, and 10 all studious listens.  If I dip down in the list four spots of just regular music listening I get:

11]  Green Day

12]  Eisley

13]  -study-

14]  Phillip Phillips

15]  and David Grey

Songs:

10]  “Canon in D Major”  Study, but a favorite too.  I want this one played at my “wedding” whatever form that event may take.

9]  “That Moon Song” by Gregory Alan Isakov, feat Brandi Carlile.  He is a relaxed, chill listen.  This is a song that make emotions choke up in your throat.  When Brandi comes in after the first verse, it’s hauntingly beautiful and always moves me.

8]  “I Will Wait” Mumford & Sons.  I had no idea I liked this song better then others in their catalog.  I do like their acoustic sounds, and any song really.

Brandi's band7]  “Closer to You” and “Rise Again”  Brandi Carlile.  Obviously.

6]  “I Didn’t” (tied with a random study song that must be on a lot of ipod play lists).  Another by Brandi.

5]  “Home,” Philip Phillips (live).  I like this because it’s an upbeat foot-stomper.  And the live version is really rooliking with the audience participating in literal foot stamping.

4]  “That Wasn’t Me.”  Though I don’t think it fits with the vibe of the rest of the album, I feel like it’s a substancial single that can really stand alone.  One of my fave Brandi songs.

3]  “Take Me Home, Country Roads,” Brandi Carlile covering John Denver.  I LOVE this!  The whole tribute album is cool–save for the horrible cover-photo.  Great for a road-trip especially.  DMB has a stand out song on it too.  Plus, John Denver always reminds me of Colorado–and THAT makes me excited to move.

2]  “So Much to Say,” by Dave Matthews Band, but it doesn’t really count b/c that was my Talent Show clogging song and I had to play it over and over for choreography, practice, and sound-check purposes.  So it’s skewed.

Brandi in Virginiareal 2]  “Raise Hell.”  So great a Brandi song.  It always helps me feel empowered and excited and it’s a great sing-along.

1]  “Hard Way Home” Brandi Carlile.  Best.  Ever.  Bear Creek is one of the best albums, maybe even my favorite better.  There’s a country feel, traveling/camping feel, and an authenticity to it.  And this song is the antithesis of that.  AND it speaks to my life, because I feel like I never have an easy path, but get things done all the same.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

