And the Cause of My Fatigue Is. . .

24 Jan

Coffee. The caffeine in it more specifically.

espresso art

I didn’t know which factor in my new lifestyle had made me feel better, so I attempted to repeat EVERYthing from the day I finally felt good. Including nixing my daily cup(s) of coffee. Then, today I suddenly had 12oz of coffee–and I feel that relentless, overwhelming fatigue.

Here’s why [A]:
coffee teddy-caffeine is a stimulant. It releases adrenaline from adrenal glands which then gives you an artificial energy boost. But your neurons can only fire so much before getting exhausted so it sets you up for a big crash. And it’s an additive effect, which is why people get tolerant to caffeine and need more and more coffee to feel the same energy.

-This is the most interesting point I found:  It dampens insulin sensitivity. So the body coffee elephantwon’t recognize sugar in the bloodstream to utilize for energy production.  Which makes sense to me.  I thought maybe I had gone diabetic.  Becuase I knew the fatigue I felt wasn’t the same as a hypoglycemic crash, but it felt related.  And symptoms were somewhat relieved immediately after exercise or after I ate an apple.  [1, 2,  ]

coffee bear-It contributes to anxiety and also disrupts sleep. Which can also add up to tossing and turning and ruin the next day.  I should have listed this toward the beginning, because it’s obvious.

-Caffeine is dehydrating. So the same factors that make you feel so scummy with a coffee celestalhangover are at work with too much coffee. When your cells are all shriveled up, you feel tired and listless.

A]  http://drhyman.com/blog/2012/06/13/ten-reasons-to-quit-your-coffee/

1]  http://care.diabetesjournals.org/content/25/2/399.full

2]  http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coffee-and-insulin-fat-and-post-workout-meals/#axzz2rMasNyBK

coffee art 2

Coffee is one of my favorite things, and the one item I consumed every, single day for the last 2 years.  Maybe 3–I know that because the Lose-It calorie site tracks that.  And I was very against giving it up.  What would I drink if BOTH my favorite beverages were out of play?!  But once I didn’t have time in my morning routine for it anymore, I felt loads better!  And yesterday when I had it–I felt miserable.  And my sleep was light, restless, and terrible last night.  So I guess it will be a special treat only and in very small quantities.  Goodbye, morning coffee.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “And the Cause of My Fatigue Is. . .”

  1. 2spirals January 25, 2014 at 11:18 AM #

    I think after a while you will adjust and it will be ok. We’ve been doing well without coffee. And I hadn’t even noticed we weren’t drinking any until just Friday when I thought hmmm why is there no coffee in this coffee maker? So I think we will be ok. I treat my water with enhancements, so I am fine with drinking enhanced water and energy drinks (though you should drink less of those too since they are caffene x10), and always remember: its not a drink but our discovery of Greek Froyo has taken the place of a good “fix” of caffeine and A-hol.

    • kit10phish January 25, 2014 at 1:24 PM #

      I love that passion fruit-pineapple flavor 😛

Leave a Reply

