March Goal Accountability

31 Mar

Maintenance Goals (from 2013):

-floss daily.  I did  it EVERY night (I think) and did a really good job of it probably 25% of the time, because I was either too tired or rushing to get into bed at the appropriate time.  In April I will try to increase to at least 50% thorough jobs.

sail boat-drink water.  I drank six, 8oz portions of water in all but 2 days during the month.  And on the day after the ones I fell short, I drank 8 glasses to make up for it.  Firstly, WHO am I?  Second, now if I don’t drink water I get a headache, chapped lips, and feel awful.  It’s a whole new thing for me.  Six wasn’t all that easy to do, so I’ll go for 7 in April.

-read for pleasure.  I finished the AIDS book and got halfway through a book about Native American Women, which is really good.  And I aim to do a synopsis one of these days, but I was really busy over break, and now I have a big exam, and a big project worth a full exam this next week.

-weekly massage.  I’m not sure why this one is so difficult.  We failed again.  Cool is only home at bed time the two nights a week, and if we snowboard, watch movies, are tired–do anything else, this one doesn’t get done.  Maybe if we try to do it after treadmilling?  So it’s finished early in the day???

-abstain from drinking.  I haven’t had a drop since November.  When we visited my Aunt, I didn’t like the way she made SUCH a big deal that she couldn’t believe we would ever stop drinking.  And I really didn’t like that both my Aunt and Uncle pressured us to drink.  If that keeps up–I won’t be going back to their house.  I like focusing on health, rather than trying to avoid things.

-study habits.  I got 4 hours ahead on my independent study over break, which translates to 1 and 1/3 weeks, but still it’s something.  I watched 8 hours of observation for another class the first weekend, because I didn’t want it hanging over my head.  And I had intentions to get ahead in audiometry, but it’s not that kind of class.  At least I don’t think I’ll be as overwhelmed.  I have to finish these last 6 super-strong!  And I will give my whole heart to studying for Thursday’s exam.

January=fitness.

Today (March 31) was day 89 in-a-row on the treadmill!  And I have a full 6 pack for the very first time in my life.  It feels good, and I hope Cool re-finds her positive attitude and motivation.  I’ll stick with two miles first thing every morning.  And on day 100 (April 11) we will do something very special.  We don’t know what yet, but we will think about it.

crabbyFeb=have gratitude; say nice things.

This was utter failure.  I was very busy and changing my routine and didn’t see very people.  I have to be mindful about this in April.  I’ll try to compliment clothes next month–that seems like an easy segway.

March=straighten out sleep.

I’ve been waking up a little later (4:45AM-6AM).  Which I don’t like in the morning, but I do like in the evening.  It’s a trade off:  Either shorter mornings, and struggle to clean before anyone gets to work OR no evening because I have to be in bed by 7PM.  Which sucks.  I’m not sure which I prefer and which I hate less. . .  Mission April = decide what schedule I want.

April=save $$$.

This is really not all that difficult when you don’t have any.  I’m drastically cutting back and only getting absolutely imperative things–which are paying bills.  I’ll publish a post about how to FEEL better about this and less punished this next month.

May=volunteer.

I crafted an auction basket for a club at school (that I don’t belong to).  It was really fun and I can write it on my CV–and it was a good deed.  Next month, I’m all set up to do a hearing screen for volunteer, and help at parent’s weekend at school.  Also, I’ll look into Habitat for Humanity, just as soon as it gets a little warmer out.

DMB at the Gorge 015June=Cool.

She just went through a short depression where I was supportive.  And I’m trying to help motivate her to keep up her fitness goals.  Hopefully, next month will be better.

July=my appearance.

This last month I reached into the depths of my closet, tried to wear accessories, and even wore jewelry once or twice.  It made me feel like more of a student and less like an unemployed person.  Also, it makes me feel rich to use stuff I already own.  In April, jewelry more often, and make-up!

Aug=Worry Less, Thank more.

I was going along for most of the month decidedly UNworried, which is very unlike me and felt awesome.  Then work burst my happy-bubble, as is usually the case and griped about cleaning and tried to rope me into more days and more time.  Which made me feel guilty at first, then annoyed because what right do they have?  When they did not follow through with ANY of my requests?!  I mean how hard is it to make a to-do list for me?  Anyway, so worry entered the picture.  But I am absolutely determined not to have any more power over me and if they fuss at me one more time–I’m done.  With no guilt, regrets, or returning.  I did manage to keep up my thanks every night before sleep, and I really like going to bed that way.  Next month–put my foot down, keep thanking, and add at least ONE thing to my positivity jar.  I still only have the first 5 things in there. . .

quailSept=make a list, grocery shop, cook ahead.

In adjusting to the new schedule, I managed a portion of this.  I have been making a list.  I made a menu twice, and based the grocery list off of it.  We grocery shopped about half the time.  Cooking ahead has not occured yet.  I just have to string these pieces together to make success of this goal.  I made a manu, made the list, and grocery shopped already THIS week, so that’s a good start.  In April I will put together all those parts to make the whole.

Oct=don’t over-pluck.

I still hate my eyebrows.  I haven’t overplucked them, but I can’t stand looking at them either.  I need to research at home bleaching or waxing kits in April.

Nov=Increase eye contact.

I think this one entails seeing people, which now I rarely do.  When I do my big hearing screenings this week, I’m going to really concentrate on this and get it done.

March was a time of readjustment and reconfiguring, but I stuck with a lot of my goals.  I just need to put all the little things together in April.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “March Goal Accountability”

  1. melaniegobledvm April 1, 2014 at 5:22 PM #

    I love seeing the ways you have succeeded and the areas you have room for improvement. It is very relieving to see that other people struggle with some of the same things I do and that is OK! Good luck on the drinking more water and congratulations on cutting out alcohol. on April 4 – my blog will discuss this – I had a major medical event that causes me to drink way to much water and if I drink alcohol it could kill me (not immediately, but via dehydration very rapidly). I think our culture relies too heavily on alcohol to have fun, it makes me sad.

    • kit10phish April 1, 2014 at 6:24 PM #

      Yeah, I had to cut out the alcohol because it was contrary to a lot of my goals. I wanted to align my actions with my intentions more so the alcohol just had to go. You certainly have to be stubborn about cutting it completely out because of societal pressures–between holidays, events, social lubrication, and advertising it’s pervasive. But I love how much better I feel without so it’s been fairly easy avoiding tempting situations for the greater good. And the water–it’s a slow process, but it’s coming along. The increasing temps are helping out as well.

Leave a Reply

