My First Hearing Screening

3 Apr

The first I’ve administered I mean–I have probably taken part in school and stuff.  Though it must not have made much of an impact, because I don’t remember it at all.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERASo I forgot about that elementary school slowing down traffic so much around 3PM! I got MAJOR lateness phobia because I didn’t get to my parking lot until 3:20!!!

 

And I’m so glad I chose the shorter slacks after all, because it was really wet & mucky and I would have had to dry clean the gray ones. But both my group members were in black slacks and black suit jackets! Damn them. But I was comfortable anyway.

And we got a senior grading us–luckily. I was so glad it wasn’t the professor! And she was really nice and was MORE confused then we were, and just let us sort of pick what we wanted to do! So that was good.

We did the child first and Jen picked to place headphones and gives directions to her own daughter so I got the easiest part–setting up and placing the chair. And when I placed the chair I sat down in it with the headphones to make sure they could raise their arm without getting tangled. So I raised my arms a couple of times, and I guess I did it in a funny way because everyone laughed. So that was cool and it broke the tension. We all got 100% on the first part.

Then we had the adult screen–and the other Jen chose to do all the questions and instructions on her own husband–so that was cool. But I couldn’t do the set-up again since I’d already done it, so I got to place the headphones and actually run the screening. So I put the headphones on properly.

I made sure my audiometer was set to all the right numbers and everything and pressed the signal so he could hear it. . . Maico MA-25 audmAnd he did NOT raise his hand! So it was already an instant-referral. I was like oh no! Because you have to finish that test, reinstruct, re-do the headphones, and it could be a total refer that finds hearing loss. Also–I was like–what if the headphones or machine are somehow WRONG???!

My hands started shaking and I was freaking out inside. Also, I was really sweating profusly because of the lateness-phobia nerves, into the being graded adrenaline, into the WHAT’S GOING ON-panic mode I was in.  So I did the 2nd tone–and NO response. No!!!!!!!! I did the 3rd and he finally raised his hand. So I thought–good at east we know things are set up ok. I switched ears and got confused. He responded and didn’t respond on THAT side too. And I was freaking out so much that I wasn’t writing the responses down immediately, so I couldn’t exactly remember which ones he responded to and didn’t–so at the end I just quickly jotted down R NR NR. But either that was how he had responded or our senior hadn’t been paying attention either, becuase she didn’t mark me off on that.

So then I had to take the headphones off and re-instruct–which I’m sure he was like–what is going on? I got it! Then I had to RE-DO the whole sequence. And luckily he responded to all 6 tones that time. I was so relieved!

And when it was all over my group and the senior was like–good job! You did so good with that! I don’t know why he didn’t hear those! So we talked and laughed and everyone was happy. And we got 100% on that too.

And we got to leave. As I was walking out I looked at my watch–only 10 minutes had passed! It went so fast!!! And I started to look if there was any observations starting at 4PM. You have to look on all our professor’s doors. I looked at the first door, and none started til next week. The second door didn’t have a sheet. Then, I got close to the 3rd door–and noticed the BITCH was right inside–and I didn’t wanna sign up with her, or hang around the hallway any longer because I would eventually have to address her–so I just hustled out of there.

greekAnd I went Hamilton so I could stop by safeway and get some B&J, but when I finally, slowly got up there–Safeway was packed so I was like eff that. So I guess I’ll have to have some fruit dip–and cry.

So that was the whole thing! Oh and in more bad news, the senior warned us we have to do this again, but with the threshold, which is more in depth. And last year they did it individually with our professor grading–so hopefully that’s not the case this year

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

