Just Another Quick Note

13 May

The German by Laurel 009I am glad I quit drinking in November. It was inadvertently the best time I could have picked to maximize success. It was after the fall season, which features the best beers, festivals, and prior to school really gearing up. And holiday drinking really isn’t a “thing” for me, since family is far away, big parties have never happened on the big 3 holidays of the year, and studying is mostly on my mind in that time frame. But I have established firm habits now. Which apparently used to be prime drinking season.

As the weather gets warmer, I realize we used to drink during this time. As celebration for an accomplished semester. As enjoyment of the beautiful weather. As an end-goal for walking on a sunny day. And now I sort of miss it–but I have too many sober days in a row to ruin it. I will in no way allow myself to fail.  Not to mention I want my actions to align with my goals–and there is no place for alcohol in that equation.

Durango sneakers

And even though I in no way want to ruin things by drinking, it’s still kind of a let-down and a bummer abstaining during this season.  I still want to have a lot of fun and enjoy the weather and treat myself and let go a little during summer break, the only real time I don’t have to study so hard.  So here’s some things to enjoy instead:

-celebrate a good grade/GPA with a special meal or an activity or a coveted item.

-get food and take it outside to a park, instead of enjoying a brew on a patio as before.

-don’t walk anywhere near our old standby places–this means all the greatest restaurants in Spokompton (which doesn’t have many choices in the 1st place) are off limits.

-keep busy with games, crafts, books (as well as obviously my to-do list, but we’re talking fun things right now, not punishment).

-make our own smoothies/healthy drinks and take them on walks in a thermos so we can indulge still.

-drink out of our fancy glasses at home instead of the plain ‘ol waterbottles all the time.

-get some fruit or herbs to dress up water.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Responses to “Just Another Quick Note”

  1. stillirise323 May 18, 2014 at 6:37 PM #

    Thank you so much for the link. I really hope it ministered to you. I am so proud of your overcoming alcohol addiction and being so active to remain alcohol free. Trust God–He is faithful to continue to keep you victorious. May God give you the enablement, the perserverance, empowerment to keep going forward. Your blog is going to bless and help so many dealing with similar issues. God bless you and I will be praying for you!

    • kit10phish May 19, 2014 at 7:36 AM #

      Thanks for your support and kind words

Leave a Reply

