Colorado is Awesome!

30 Jul

I want my loyal readers to know I plan to write a sequel to “Veterinary Medicine is for Spoiled Rich Girls.”  For example, I realize the term “rich” is a subjective one, and also that 2, 3, 7 different people will have varying experiences, which cannot be equalized or made factual in any meaningful way.  In the sequel I plan to find some data to back up or refute my first claims (which I still believe strongly because that was MY first-hand experience).  Maybe I’ll supplement it with more specific stories and incidents, maybe not.  It might just be data.  Oh, and I retract the word “girls.”  I don’t like it any more, and it sounds demeaning in a way I hadn’t intended.  Alas, I’ve been frantically trying to finish all my application materials before the semester starts so I don’t have much left in me when it comes to frivolous writing just yet.  Soon though.

What I can do before I retire to bed, is share with you an article about Colorado.  I’m still excited, but now it feels a world away.  With the change of plan moving us toward Salt Lake rather than Greeley, the excitement has receded.  It’s the right decision, but a little sad that our grown-up lives are still so out of reach.  Just 5 more years of being a starving student.  Like these last it’s sure to pass in the blink of an eye.  I guess I’m holding on to the saying “the time will pass either way” or some close approximation to that–can you tell I’ve been writing essays the majority of the day?  So Without further adu, something to keep the dream fresh:

Denver

THE BEST…
Public parks and outdoor access (#1)

This is great–we want to be outdoor enthusiasts and healthy, so this was be inspirational.

CO Parks and Wildlife
Athletic/active (#1)

We can remain motivated to stay in shape and active!

Bike Town
Easy-going (#1)

Great for me, great for Cool’s bipolar and generalized anxiety, and awesome for employment (working with the public).

Old Town Hot Springs--Steamboat Springs
Microbrew beer (#2)

Maybe we will one day take advantage of this again.

oskarblues in Longmont
Professional sports (#2)

Yay!  We love festivity.  Now if they could only get a WNBA team.

CO vs WA 2014

THE WORST…
Charming local accent (#28)

Who cares.
Cool souvenirs (#25)

Again, so what?
Ethnic food (#23)

Don’t trust it, don’t crave it.

Leave a Reply

