Job Descriptions 2005 or 2006?

3 Sep

Job Descriptions:
Small Animal
With Dr. Hulme, I was in charge of cleaning the exam tables, kennels, and the facilities. I also cared for animals by walking dogs and feeding. I aided the veterinarian by restraining animals, and held instruments such as the otiscope, for the doctor. I learned how to autoclave the surgery instruments, count and label medication, answer the phone, and write information in files. I observed dental cleanings, declaws, spays and neuters, and euthanasia.
I did everything for Dr. Minor that I had done for Dr. Hulme as well as some added jobs. I assisted with radiographs, eventually learning how to set our machine without measurements (we didn’t have any) and learned to develop the radiographs in our dip tank. I ran urinalysis and fecal floats, filled prescriptions, and performed pre-surgery blood panels. I also administered subcutaneous fluids, and glued due-claw removals. I learned how to prep for surgery as well as monitor anesthetic. I assisted with minor procedures (held puss pockets in pyometra surgery, injected atropine during a colonectomy, helped twist a rod in place during an orthopedic surgery). I was able to perform a prophy, helped drain an abscess, and was able to put a skin suture in my own cat’s abdomen after her spay. I observed third eyelid removal, pyometra, unblocking of feline urinary tract, a broken jaw wired together, tail amputation, and a blood transfusion.
Noah’s Ark Animal Hospital, hired me January of 2004. It is a four veterinarian small animal practice that also specializes in pocket pets and birds. I have some added responsibilities such as daily treatments (giving pills, oral liquids, and injectables, as well as force feeding). I also run diagnostics including gram stains, answer the phone, book appointments and boarding, and check clients in and out. I empty anal glands, do nail trims, draw blood for glucose curves, and generally help out where I am needed. I have been able to gain experience with small more exotic pets as well as with dogs and cats. I have force fed a chinchilla, trimmed bird nails and wings, restrained small and large birds, force fed ferrets, gave a turtle a baytril injection, and force fed a snake a pinky. I have observed Bulldog A.I., ultrasounds, and cesarean-sections.
I spent six hours one Saturday helping Dr. Terry Chapman vaccinate and Coggins test some horses. She vaccinated the horses for West Nile Virus, Eastern & Western Equine Encephalitis, and Influenza (tuberculosis). The Coggins test requires that about 3 mL of blood is taken to analyze for Equine Infectious Anemia. I was able to actually pull the blood and vaccinate most of the horses we worked with that day.
Horse-
I got a part-time job at Equine Medical Services this summer. My main responsibilities are cleaning stalls, bedding, feeding, watering, and medicating (oral and on feed) the horses. I have helped unload and load hoses in the trailers, catch horses for their pregnancy checks, and walk horses to paddocks. I also help clean the six barns and maintain the facilities.
Dairy Cows-
One of the grad students, Julie, hired me to care for dairy cattle being used for heat stress research, in the latter part of 2003. Rectal, tail-head, shoulder, and hip temperatures as well as the respiration rate of 18 cows had to be taken four times a day. We milked the cows at 4 am and 4pm every day, which entailed sanitizing the milking equipment, milking, and re-sanitizing the milking equipment. I also helped feed and bed the animals and clean their stalls. Since it was a research project meticulous recorded on the cows had to be kept. The temperatures and respiration rates were recorded as well as the feed intake and output of each cow. I drew blood from under a cow’s tail and observed a biopsy while I was working with the project.
Pigs-
Dr. Greg and Terry Chapman took me to Washington, MO for 8 hours one Saturday, to see their friends Bob and Dottie Brinker who have a hog farm. I learned about the daily responsibilities of running a swine operation by walking around the farm for eight hours. During my visit, Bob told me about the necessary vaccinations, breeding procedure, and swine flow through the facility.
Research Monkey-
Dr. Sharp, our relief doctor, took me to his other job at Sierra Biomedical (Charles River Laboratories, Sparkes, NV), a research facility. For 8 hours I was able to follow Dr. Sharp on his rounds. He checked the feces of Cynomologus macaqus, Recess, and Marmosets to check for gastrointestinal problems. He changed food and prescribed medication as necessary. He also looked for gross lesions and possible research-ending health problems by the groups. I was even able to remove sutures from a monkey as Dr. Sharp held it. At the end of the day, I got to go into the common area and feed the monkeys graham crackers. It was extremely interesting to see the higharchy in the different cages.
Wolves-
I observed Dr. Minor working with wolves. I went and saw her vaccinate many wolves, and when one of the female wolves was very sick, she came to the veterinary hospital for two weeks. We gave the wolf supportive care and eventually euthanized her.
Exotics-
I was able to volunteer with Deb T at D-D Animal Sanctuary, where I bottle-fed a calf, swept out a tiger enclosure and a cougar enclosure, carried bales of hay across a field, and put straw on the floor of enclosures.
Down Under Diner-
Register, Hand out food, Make food, Clean back, Inventory
I learned:
People skills, Teamwork, Mental math, Sanitation, Food preparation, Heavy lifting, Deciphering patterns of speech, Accents, Soft voices

Leave a Reply

