A Look Back–At 2014

31 Dec

Here are month-by-month grades from my check-in posts for a more quantitative assessment of my resolution progress.

2013 Goals to Maintain:Tucsan

-study habits (A+, A-, A+, D-, B, C, C+, A+, A, A), -floss daily (A+, A-, A+, A-, A-, A-, B, C, D, F-), -drink water(A+, A-B-, C, A, A+, A-, A+, B, B), -read for pleasure (A-, A-, D, D-, B+, C, D+, F, F-, F-), -weekly massage (B, F, D, D+, F-, F, F, F, F-, F-), -abstain (A+, A+, A++, A+, D+, A+, A+, A++, A+, A+)

-I’d say studying went well always, and only slid in the summer months–which is fine.  This was easy since having the 4.0 GPA was of the utmost importance to me.

-Flossing was going well, but majorly crashed when school started and I got a night job.  Taking away my evening contributed to the current failure of this one.

-I managed to do an average to wonderful job with my water throughout the year.  It helps that water is available, free, and keeps my headaches away.  It also helps that I no longer drink most other beverages, so no much is left TO drink.

-Reading is easy when I’m not doing anything else.  But during school or when my evenings were removed (for work) it’s one of the first things to go.

-I felt/feel(?) that weekly massages were important to me, but I’m not sure, based on my consistent failure that they really are.  I like them and everything, but logistical issues are quick to undermine this.

-Abstaining from alcohol was a lot more successful then I ever imagined.  I followed through in a big way.  And my mind was in a good place.  I only really wanted this at the start of summer break and during October (hence the double ++ when I DIDN’T drink those months).August 2011 105

2014 Goals:

-add in exercise AND produce (subtract bad things)(A+/F, A+/F, A-/F, A/F-, A-/F, A+/A-, A+/F-, A-/F–, A+/F, A-/F+), -have gratitude (D, F, F, C-, D, A+, A+, A-, C, D-), say nice things (D, F, F, F, F, B-, B, B, D, F), -Straighten out my sleep (F, D-, F, C, A-, A+, F, B-, F, D+), -min. extraneous spending and save a small amt $ every paycheck for moving to CO (F, D, F, B, D, F, C, F-, F, D), -volunteer (D, C, F, A-, F, F, F, F-, F-, F-), -Take pride in my appearance:  Wear contacts more, use makeup, wear jewelry(C, B, F, A+, B-, C-, D+, D-, F+, F), -Judge Cool less and show her more kindness and love (C-, C, B, C+, C, D-, C+, B+, A-, D+), -worry only 30 min/day (instead of all day & night) AND think positively for at least 10 min/d (C, C-, A+, B-, A, B, A+, B, D, C), -make a list, grocery shop, cook ahead (F, C-, D+, F-, F-, F-, F+, F+, F-, F+), -Don’t over-pluck eye brows (A-, A-, B, D, C, A-, A-, A-, A, A-), -increase eye contact (D-, F, D+, C, F, C, F, F, F, D+)

SkyFest 056So did I make it for the new goals?

-Running a daily mile in the morning is my best goal I’ve EVER accomplished!  This worked so well because I was mentally ready to do it.  Also, because having a treadmill to make it easy and warm worked for me.  The time constraint (first thing in the morning) also helped me keep it up, as did a minimum distance (1 mile).  Lastly, completing “days-in-a-row” made this impossible to break–even on the few occasions I was lazy or had a stressful, busy day ahead.

-Eating did not go well-per the usual, because I was NOT mentally ready for change.  This was not super-practical, nor specific enough to keep me chained to it.

-Having gratitude improved immediately after I left veterinary work.  And I liked it, so I guess I was also mentally ready to DO it.  On the other hand, saying nice things was a failure throughout the year.  Maybe it wasn’t actually a priority?

-I made a concerted effort all year to fix my restless sleep.  I think I mostly failed, because sleep is largely out of my control.  After fixing my sleep hygiene, schedule, and stress levels–I wasn’t sure where to go with it.  I have to remember to make goals that I CAN control.

-When I made the money saving goal, I had good intentions, and was mentally ready to follow-through.  I couldn’t have predicted my financial situation would change so drastically early in the year.  Once I quit my job, the story became–hold on.  Saving isn’t really all that possible without an income.

-I really failed hard on the volunteerism.  Mostly because my priorities changed, and I no longer cared about this as much.

-My appearance was adequate only when I had time or special occasions.

-I’m disappointed that I didn’t show Cool as much kindness as I wanted, but I feel like this was another goal that was largely out of my control.  You see, when a bipolar person is cycling, they are often–a jerk.  It’s hard to deal with that stress–ALL the time, or most of the time, as we did last year.  She rapid-cycled the entire year, which is very tumultuous.  I feel like I managed to keep my head above water-mostly-and that any more was asking too much.  Next year, I want a similar goal, because it’s important, but something 100% in my control.

-I don’t know what a mental breakdown feels like, but I’m pretty certain I was about to have one by the end of 2013.  I was anxious, stressed, frazzled, bitter, and burned out.  It was awful and major things had to change for my own peace of mind.  For starters, I got out of veterinary work.  I had done my time, and was increasingly disgruntled with (primarily) the thanklessness for my hard work.  The low pay, long hours, and high pressure–not to mention social issues didn’t help.  One of the best decisions I ever made was removing myself from that scenario.  Once I got out of the veterinary work, I was able to worry a LOT less.  And my life because more balanced, my attitude better.

-This is another item (make a list, make a menu, grocery shop) that I really WANT to do–in theory.  It’s also something that when it comes down to it I slack off on.  I need to take a cue from my running success and change this goal so it will actually happen next year.

-Don’t over-pluck was, I guess easy–by default.  My mind wasn’t right, I just didn’t have the time.  And now I’m not sure I care about this all that much.  What’s done is done.

-Increase eye contact never came to fruition, and right now it doesn’t seem like a huge priority for me.1st day school 040

Overall, I’m happy with 2014.  I made some big life changes, like switching jobs, quitting alcohol, and starting to run.  And I finished my time at Riverpoint–with all A’s.  I feel like I’m a happier, more relaxed person then I was at this time last year as a result.  Sure, I flat-out failed on a lot of these goals, but I don’t feel bad about most of them (aside from Cool and groceries).  It was fun to try for them, and it worked out nicely to keep track every month.  I’m going to make goals for 2015, but try to model them after the running goal for more success.  Also, I’ll pick only a few, because 11 proved too many, and some became unimportant.  Be looking for my 2015 Resolutions post–then–some music!

Leave a Reply

