Today, My Mile Was More Reasonable [1st interview thoughts]

14 Jan

I completed it in 11.5 minutes with only 3 breaks.  And with the help of Nyquil I slept better last night then I had the previous week!  It still took everything I had to vacuum the apartment today, and as such I’m going to do my sitting down tasks to avoid wearing myself out.  I have to make it through 8 hours of work tomorrow.  Here is some info from my anatomy coloring book.  Then, from an audiology journal article.  And lastly, my very first go at answering potential interview questions.  I’ll work on this 3rd part much more next week.  But I DID  finally buy my bus tickets, hotel room, etc. . .  for February so I can attend said interview–IF I am invited.  If I don’t make the interview I will be pissed, and I guess it will become a vacation because nothing is refundable. . .

uu garden 3

-The ANS has 2 divisions:
–Sympathetic NS- leaves CNS from thoracic & lumbar regions and mobilize E in times of threat (dilates pupils, increase sweat & HR, stim adrenaline).

—Adrenaline mimics the sympathetic NS, but lasts longer.
–parasympathrtic NS – leaves CNS from brain & saccral regions and conserve E in times of quiet (increases digestion, constricts pupils & blood vessels)

brainstem

-use aided cortical auditory evoked potentials (CAEP) in ppl whom behavioral testing isn’t reliable.  Shows if a stim. is encoded by the cortex, so can’t yet be used to determine gain or signal-to-noise.

-kids w/HL have difficulty recognizing speech in noise.  Room acoustics impact hearing.  Kids have to rely on working memory to hear adequately.  Especially at poor signal-to-noise ratios, and this can affect auditory comprehension and overall learning.  Glimpsing is a process where ppl take advantage of background noise fluctuations to understand the message.

-Pp w/hearing loss have to use working memory to understand speech–especially with background noise, where a normally hearing person relies on their automatic speech recognition system.  It’s why someone w/HL is exhausted after a day of listening.   Measures of hearing aid response are typically sensitive to background noise equal or less then the signal, where 5-15 above the signal are more realistic.  Therefore, a better test is needed to test the actual capability of hearing aids in noise.  The better the hearing aid is at cancelling outside noise (SNR of +7-+9 over the signal) the better people can recall with accuracy what was said.  In other words, the more an aid can cancell background sound, the less working memory is required to receive the signal, and the more memory is allocated for actually working with the communicated signal.

pinna piercing 2

-What are your strengths and weaknesses?

Wait, wait before I practice answers to potential interview questions I need to think about what I want the committee to know, and what I want them to minimize.

What they should know:

-I am a hard-worker

-I’m not a quitter

-I am a team player

-I’m not in it just for the money

-I am not closed to any of the audiology career avenues (even though right now I’m interested in aural rehabilitation, which I see less as a niche, and more as EVERY aspect should utilize it).

 

What I Want to downplay:

-I am in no way a flake or flight-risk because of my strong veterinary past

-My undergraduate GPA is not representative of my brainpower, ability, or effort.

-My lack of audiology experience does not make me less enthusiastic or naive about the profession.

1]  What are your strengths and weaknesses?

The fact I am 31 years old gives me the advantage of maturity and experience.  This will not be the first time away from my parents, it isn’t the first time I have moved to a novel state, and it isn’t the first time I have attended college.  I can better rise to the rigors of the audiology program because I will be able to focus on that rather then other logistical concerns.

I also, have the determination to see all 4 years through.  Since I have been on an alternate path, it makes me that much more dedicated to finish this training to completion.

My weakness is the fact I am not independently wealthy and do not have a benefactor to pay for my educational or living expenses.  It is nothing I am not used to however.  For the same reason, I applied for every scholarship opportunity in high school and was awarded 8 different scholarships.  In college, I worked half to full time throughout while maintaining my coursework.  This time around I plan to apply for any assistantship available to secure funding.

My other weakness is also a strength.  I have not known I wanted to be an audiologist since childhood.  I did not observe AuDs since grade school, nor was I involved with projects and the profession throughout my undergraduate years.  But my varied experiences in veterinary hospitals, animal organizations, and other things gives me perspectives not every audiology student shares.   I can take those outside experiences and apply them to this career.

Leave a Reply

