Interview: MU Vet Med

4 Jun

Z-O-U

Interview
What does a vet do?
Vets work long hours to educate owners, treat animals, perform surgery, engage in research, and promote the veterinary field.
What is best about being a vet?
I enjoy the combination of skills that a veterinarian is required to use on a daily basis. A vet has to be mentally capable, physically fit, dexterous with her hands, compassionate, and be prepared for anything.
What is worst about being a vet?
My least favorite aspect of the job is seeing pet owners who are not willing to do anything for their animal. It’s difficult to see an animal with a treatable ailment get euthanized because the owner does not want to spend money. I understand euthanasia is part of the job and know that veterinarians cannot save them all, but it is unfortunate when an owner refuses to do what is best for their pet.
Why do you want to be a veterinarian?
I have always loved animals and I started to look into the career of vet medicine at an early age. I researched the career and volunteered, and was still not deturred, so I knew veterinary medicine was for me. I like seeing the bond between people and their pets, I think it is exciting how every day is different, and I am anxious to own my own business.
What type of veterinary medicine do you want to work in?
I would like to own a small animal practice with an emphasis on exotics. Dr. Minor jokes that she wants me to sign a letter of intent that I will work for her in my hometown of Dayton, NV.
What is your favorite leadership?
I really enjoy being an active member of the pre-vet club. I have really given my all to the club. I think you get out of it what you put into it–just like anything else. I liked planning the social activities and putting together 2 scrapbooks as the social chair, and I really enjoy organizing the officer meetings and ordering and selling the apparel as vice president. Though, staying positive when members get disgruntled can be difficult, I like trying to make the club fun for everyone.
What has been your greatest achievement thus far?
I am proud of all my volunteer hours. I made a concerted effort to not only clean kennels and stalls in a hospital environment, but to follow a veterinarian as much as possible. I succeeded in being one on one with a vet for 653 hours. In high school, I was rewarded with 8 scholarships, many rewarding me for my volunteer efforts.
What is your greatest strength?
You know, that since this is the 2nd time I have applied to vet school that I am very diligent. If something need to be done I will work at it until it is finished correctly.
What has been the greatest lesson from volunteer/job so far?
I understand that being a veterinarian takes a lot of time. I have worked 12 hour days, without lunch breaks, and I have seen my employers work 7 days a week for months at a time. I realize that veterinarians have to work long, hard hours from the time they graduate until retirement with very little time for recreation. I also know that it is one of the most rewarding jobs a person can have. I am excited to feel the sense of accomplishment of successfully treating a difficult case, and long to know the pride of having a good business because I have practiced meticulous and skillful medicine.
What is your biggest weakness?
I get impatient when I realize not every is going to work as hard as I do. I hate to see other students out drinking before big exams, workers lazing around instead of being productive, and people that do not give their full effort to a project.
What are your plans if you do not get in this year?
I will graduate with my animal science degree and chemistry minor in may, then work to get more animal experience. I plan to take anatomy from the vet school, then re-apply, branching out to vet schools at a national and world level.
What is a failure or disappointment and how did you deal with it?
Last year I did not get into vet school. Instead of getting discouraged and thinking my dreams of being a veterinarian were crushed, I made an effort to improve my application. I worked on my grades, got more animal experience, and worked on my interview skills. This year, I am supremely confident that I will get in!

Leave a Reply

