1 mile (minimum) 1000 days in a row!

28 Sep

Today is the day! This is it. P.S. Obviously, I had to stop being lazy and write a post on this MILEstone day.  Also, I’m sorry for not writing (as I always am).  Now that I’m not a student and forced to sit for long periods of time, procrastinate from overwhelming studying, or use a computer for papers and research constantly–it’s hard to keep up on it.  I’m NOT finished blogging (I’d TELL you, dear readers) just sparse and lazy.

What I’m no longer lazy about though–is running.  At least a mile.  OK, actually, there’s really no day that I WANT to run.  I’m not all crazy and addicted to running.  I will probably never do a marathon–or even a half.  Just no desire.  Why would I?!  I may not even do a 5K.  I run to be alone–not wake up at the crack of dawn, go in the cold, and elbow through a crowd.  Oh no.  It’s more an obligation.  A daily, obligation that I know I will HAVE to do.  Kind of like scooping the litterboxes every day.  Nobody, WANTS to do it, but it has to be done, so you plan for it, just get it done, and are thankful when it’s over.  That’s how my runs go.

12728909_959654397416640_8415443010741764767_n

I tried to go back in my posts to find out what I was feeling when I started this.  And honestly, I couldn’t find anything super-huge about it.  I didn’t look VERY hard through the old posts (because I wanted to write this for sure) but it didn’t even seem a monumental goal.  Such a big accomplishment–and it started very small I guess. . .  I absolutely know I had no intentions of ever doing it for a thousand days in a row–that just happened.  Honest.

I know this for sure:  I started running on the treadmill January 2, 2014.  It was on January 2nd because I think I used January 1st as a holiday.  Maybe it was a hangover day?  I don’t recall, if I had been drinking or not.  I know I had been contemplating quitting.  So I had slowed down the alcohol.  I can’t remember if that was the last hurrah (I actually did quit drinking alltogether for 2 years) or if I had stopped earlier.  I think it was actually more a day of contemplation.  My life wasn’t exactly where I wanted it to be.  I was working a thankless, stressful veterinary job, taking part-time Speech & Hearing Science Classes, and drinking too much.  I was scared, actually.  What I wanted to do was stop drinking all-together–that was part of the reason to start running.  Because quitting alcohol left me with a lot of extra time.  So I wanted to fill it.  But not with more work, and I was already studying my a$$ off.  So fitness and health seemed sensible.

12932613_992951877420225_6022199846653140198_n

I wrote a lot of goals in 2014, and was pretty good at tracking them and accomplishing tem little by little.  The running just stemmed from that.  I wanted to never break the chain.  If you do something every single day, every day in a row, on those inevitable lazy days, you’re less likely to skip.  Because skipping isn’t just slacking on one day anymore–it’s losing all the previous days in a row.  If you run 1 day, a skipped day doesn’t matter all that much, and suddenly, you haven’t run in 3 months oops.  But if you run 7, or 50, or 700 days in a row, when you feel like lazy-ing out–you don’t lose THAT day, you lose the 7, 50, or 700 previous efforts too–then have to start over.

I ran before work at 4 AM, inside hotel rooms (bear-jam), during family visits when everyone was having fun and I felt lazy, and once at 1:30 AM after coming home from work.

I rode a Grayhound from Spokane to Salt Lake City for my school interview–and ran in the hotel parking lot–in February.

I ran with head-colds, when I had blisters, with broken ribs (very slowly), and when I was tired.

I treadmilled after working for 10 hours, when I was very busy, on every birthday and holiday.

In bad weather and when it was 104F (outside, and I ran outside, b/c inside was worse w/no AC), I ran my mile.

The 2nd day of moving, after a sleepless (thanks kitties) night in a hotel, I drove a Penksy from Missoula to Salt Lake City, had to skip lunch, unloaded the entire moving truck, and discovered the hot water hadn’t been turned on in the new apartment.  And I still ran.

uu-interview-018

I did it!  And some days that was the only thing I did.  Many days the only thing that got me out of my jammies and off the couch was my mile.

But there were good days too.  Those first hot days in the spring are some of the best runs–you are finally outside!  All the record-breaking days.  Days after being cooped up at work or studying for finals–those runs felt great.  A new running outfit or pair of shoes.  After I got my Tom Tom fitness tracker and no longer had cords of any kind.  Just feeling good.

And the drinking crept back in, but it is in moderation.  I’m at a new job–and it’s not in the veterinary field.  I dropped tracking goals (this year) because I’m in transition and it was a bummer seeing them fall by the wayside month after month.  But I ran–1,000 days.  In a row.  No stopping.  If I can do that I can do anything.  I just have to put my mind to it.

So I created a work/community event knowing I don’t really know anyone in the state, and I work with duds/douches losers that can barely get themselves to work.  But I’m a winner so I created a commemorative (/fundraising) event, knowing it was just be me.  And my family who participated.  And not being disappointed about that at all-because I’M doing it.  And that is important–as is this day.

7-7-15-pr-b-day

So now I may NEVER stop!  If I broke a leg–I’d probably hop out a mile.  Because I never want to throw away more then 1,000 days in a row of running at least one mile.

event-in-a-row

Leave a Reply

