Blouse Grouse

27 Jan

I don’t own a single blouse. Which gets ridiculous if I have to dress professionally, have some occasion to attend, or an interview. I have tons of clothes, but not one nice looking–or even passable shirt.

The big-boss at work said he gets all his professional wear from this thrift store near my apartment. Since I hate spending money on clothes I don’t even really want or wear often, I thought that was genious. And my mom attributed my success (that comes later in the post) to my petite size.  Which I concur is an advantage.  Buying professional wear thrift had never occurred to me before, and I had been cheaping-out best I could at WalMart.

Once I got to the store, I really liked it. It was clean and they had hung everything up, rather then stuffing a mish-mash of stuff as thrift stores usually do. The only thing I hate more then shopping, is rifling through a random, disorganized pile. And trying on clothes AT the store.

But being motivated to spend less, I put on my big-girl panties and looked for blouses.  Turns out I don’t own any blouses, because I’m just not a blouse person.  They are non-breathable fabrics, too tight, too low, or too froo-froo for me.  I want a modestly cut, comfortable, breathable shirt that doesn’t showcase any of my pieces.  Apparently, that’s not a thing.  I really didn’t like any of the blouse options.

But I did see a lot of sweaters.  And They are professional (enough) and warmer.  Also, they tend to cover more skin and not be as tight-tight-tight.  So I bought a LandsEnd power-yellow, Charter Club sparkle-plum, Croft & Barrow forest, Eddie Bauer ocean-blue, Polo Jeans Company chocolate brown, and North Crest lavender.  Make no mistake, I could care LESS about brand names.  I actually loathe the practice of paying more for a similar product just because it features some designer name.  I bought these sweaters primarily for the colors.  And they weren’t allowed to be low-cut or too tight.  Anyway, I scored!  They were all for under $20!  SIX name-brand, perfectly new-looking sweaters, with no stains, tears, or problems.  Which if you’ve ever looked at department store sweater prices–you know is amazing.  One sweater could easily cost $30–and usually they’re more.  So now I have a week’s worth of professional attire that I can wear to class and in my career.  That is–if I am accepted to school (small details).

I have no idea what I’ll wear in hot weather–is there a blouse-alternative?!  But I’m set for winter and air conditioning.  Next–pants.  I’ll go back after a couple of paychecks to get some professional-looking pants for school, clinics, my externship, and eventual work.  Again, IF I’m accepted to my audiology program. . .

Leave a Reply

