Goal/Task Commitment Essay

10 Jun

6.)  Goals/task commitment: Articulate the goals you have established for yourself and your efforts to accomplish them. Give at least one specific example that demonstrates your work ethic/diligence.

Fish Transparent Skeleton Specimens 4

While holding a full-time job I took the junior-level course without having taken the prerequisites.  My pace had to be intense to catch up with the rest of my class, but my efforts paid off when I received an A in the course as well as a healthy dose of enthusiasm for speech language pathology.  My piqued interest in swallowing disorders combined with my experience using barium in companion animals, taking radiographs for the last thirteen years at veterinary hospitals, and observing endoscopies in horses, has me gravitating toward work with dysphagia patients at a skilled nursing facility or medical rehabilitation center.

Every weekend of my childhood, my father and I would have special bonding time while grocery shopping.  Checking items off the grocery list, comparing prices, and driving around to take advantage of the best deals was enjoyable, but I hated the check-out process.  My father would proudly say “This is my good helper-girl” to the tired cashiers who were unlucky enough to get scheduled on a busy Saturday or Sunday.  Then, the part I dreaded would arrive—the checker would read out the total.  I did not hate this part because we could not afford the items or even because my thrifty father fussed at the price.  Neither of those things ever occurred.  What did happen was my father’s inevitable, “What?”  The checker would repeat the number, and I would be so embarrassed, looking at the impatient faces waiting behind us.  My father still did not hear what amount he should write on his check.  My face would flush, and the cashier, desperate to get her lengthening line moving, would eventually turn the written numbers toward my father so he could see his total for himself.  It is from the mortification that I felt, that I want to help people with hearing loss.  My compassion for my beloved father motivates me to help others like him.

While holding a full-time job I took a junior-level course without having taken the prerequisites.  My pace had to be intense to catch up with the rest of my class, but my efforts paid off when I received an A in the course as well as a healthy dose of enthusiasm for speech language pathology.  Eager to commence my education in the discipline, I began preparing in May for my next course, Anatomy.  It was my self-imposed summer project to read and outline the pertinent chapters in the textbook, to attempt dysphagia recipes, and research different pathologies leading to dysphagia.  My piqued interest in swallowing disorders combined with my experience using barium in companion animals, taking radiographs for the last thirteen years at veterinary hospitals, and observing endoscopies in horses, has me contemplating attaining my Master’s Degree in Speech Language Pathology.   I envision myself gravitating toward work with dysphagia patients at a skilled nursing facility or medical rehabilitation center.

Currently, I am eager to take more classes to learn more about all realms of the Speech and Hearing Sciences before closing any doors on professional opportunities.  I know working in the field of speech and hearing sciences will be rewarding.  And I am quite certain my father will still be proud of his “good helper-girl.”

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment