A Music Update

22 Jul

Here is a fun post in honor of me going back to my part-time schedule tomorrow and being productive for the last 27 days of summer (WHERE DID THAT TIME GO?!):

The formula is taken from my last FM stats.  This captures i-tunes, i-pods, Spotify, all of it.  Also, I looked at each time increment captured and got an average that is representative of long and short term listening habits.

1.  MY FAVORITE LISTENING FORUM:

-Spotify.  It’s not perfect, and it always craps out when I try to use it to sync my i-pod, but it has almost everything and it’s free.  Sure, I could do without the ads, especially the ones that jump under my mouse when I scroll, but it’s still less spammy then Apple.

2.  FAVORITE ARTIST (most to least played status)

-Brandi Carlile avg 2nd

-Indigo Girls avg 7th = DMB avg 7th

-Maroon 5 avg 8th

-Mumford & Sons avg 9th

-Taylor Swift avg 10th

3.  FAVORITE SONG LYRICS

-Right now, “Age of Worry” by John Mayer resonates with me

4.  TOP PLAYED SONG

-in the last 6 months = Brandi Carlile’s remake of “Take Me Home, Country Roads”

– for the last year = Brandi Carlile “Hard Way Home”

-overall = Taylor Swift “Mean”

5.  TOP PLAYED BAND

-still the Indigo Girls overall with 6,253 listens

-in the last year, DMB = 1,441 listens

-past 6 months = Brandi Carlile = 448 listens

6.  BEST STUDY MUSIC

-Vitamin String Quartet

-I like the fast movements of Tbilisi Orchestra

http://youtu.be/83XU3aKZxiA

7.  BEST RUNNING MUSIC

-“Here Comes the Boom,” Nelly

-“Lose Yourself,” Eminem

-“My Time,” Fabolous

8.  BEST DRIVING MUSIC

-John Denver

-Trampled by Turtles

—>

Can I just say A] I must be tired because I’ve been working on this post for a ridiculous 2 hours now and B] I am now totally obsessed with watching DMB on YouTube now?  There is everything!  The show I actually saw at the Gorge, official videos, lyrics, and fan stuff!!!!  I never go on YouTube–THIS must be the reason, it’s a vortex-time-stealing machine. . .

Leave a Reply

